Our History

GMI Contractors, Inc. was founded June 23, 1994 by Stephen Gilchrist and James McDonald, and with only 5 employees they began to make a mark in the Architectural Glazing Industry. GMI has since made significant contributions to the fabric of the Philadelphia Skyline and neighboring communities that has improved and grown infrastructure to support its growing and diverse population. Whether New Construction or Retro-fit to Historic Renovation, GMI has a proven track record for excellence.

Stephen and James began their careers in the Apprenticeship Program for District Council 21, The International Union of Painters and Allied Trades. As they made their way through the Apprenticeship Program they both realized very quickly that their vision and entrepreneurship would drive them to start their own business and in only 1 year after graduating, GMI Contractors, Inc. became a reality. Steve and Jim have taken a hands on approach with their employees and clients delivering quality and value on all of their projects.

Today, GMI has grown into a multi-million dollar organization that works hand in hand with Architects, Owners, Developers, Construction Managers, and General Contractors to deliver turnkey glass and glazing solutions. We have earned our reputation of quality design and construction through hard work, knowledge and expertise.

Markets:

  • Schools & Universities
  • Multi-Family Residential
  • Hospitals & Healthcare
  • Institutional
  • Commercial
  • Historic Replacement

Services:

  • Pre-Construction Design & Consultation
  • Budgeting & Value Engineering
  • Furnishing & Installation of All Glazing
  • Historic Window Replacement
  • High-Rise Glazing Specialists
  • Interior Fit-Outs

Our People

Stephen Gilchrist: President & CEO – 215-781-8991 X 301
sgilchrist@gmicontractors.com

James McDonald: Vice President – 215-781-8991 X 302
jmcdonald@gmicontractors.com

Heather Marseglia: Controller – 215-781-8991 X 303
hmarseglia@gmicontractors.com

Heather Lutzker: Director of Business Development – 215-847-1270 X 304
hlutzker@gmicontractors.com

Dirk Hodorowski: Estimating – 215-847-1270 X 305
dirk@gmicontractors.com

John Krajewski: Draftsman & Project Management – 215-781-8991 X 306
johnk@gmicontractors.com

Mike Lopuszanski: Sr. Project Manager – 215-781-8991 X 307
mikel@gmicontractors.com

Henry Mafla: Director of Technical Engineering – 267-539-5795
hmafla@gmicontractors.com